The Box Opener?? Really?

  I like tools.  With a tool I can make something better ( or attempt).  While on a recent pick trip I was rummaging thru a junk box.  Found a handy crow bar/pry bar.  I even commented to my friend on how sharp the edges were.  A tool used to demolish should show signs of extensive wear.   While in my picking mode I didn’t think anything about it and  threw it in my want pile. Not until I returned home did I discover my handy pry tool had words embossed on the handle “Mellor NO.1 Box Opener”.  Really, no blade? You guessed it . The tool was made for opening wooden grocery boxes.   Early 1900’s with the expanded use of corrugated paper boxes. The definition of box openers was changed. I am not saying the Mellor NO. 1 is a museum find but  a quaint reminder of a different time. 



 

Leave a Reply

